Skip to content Skip to navigation

Handbook Pager

3.2.7 Borrowing Sabbatical Leave Eligibility

Last updated on:
Friday, September 1, 2017
Formerly Known As Policy Number: 

The University recognizes the need to provide opportunities for junior faculty to develop their research and scholarship. To assist them during a critical period of their careers, non-tenured Assistant and non-tenured Associate Professors may, upon reappointment for a multiple-year term and with the approval of their department Chair and Dean, borrow up to three years of service credit to be eligible for a sabbatical leave of longer duration or a higher rate of pay (up to the sabbatical policy maximum). A faculty member will not normally be permitted to borrow service beyond the end date of the term of appointment.

Tenured faculty and faculty with continuing term appointments may not normally borrow sabbatical leave service credit.