Skip to content Skip to navigation

Handbook Pager

1.1.4 The Schools

Last updated on:
Friday, September 1, 2017
Formerly Known As Policy Number: 

When Ray Lyman Wilbur took office in 1915, the faculty was grouped into 26 independent departments showing what Registrar J. P. Mitchell referred to kindly as “a serious absence of cooperation.” It took 10 years to evolve a system of Schools. The University currently has 7 schools: the School of Earth, Energy and Environmental Sciences, the Graduate School of Education, the School of Engineering, the Graduate School of Business, the School of Humanities and Sciences, the Law School, and the School of Medicine.